1990 East Cork Football Champions

Path to the final

Castlemartyr 1-17 Glenbower Rovers 2-3 Johnny Mor­gan 0-6 (3 frees), Christy O’Sullivan 0-4, Kieran Mur­phy 0-4, Sean Leahy 0-3, Christy Enright 1-0.

Castlemartyr 0-10 Youghal 0-6 Johnny Morgan 0-5, Sean Leahy 0-2, Derry Guilfoyle, Mairtin Conroy and Jim Furlong 0-1 each

Castlemartyr 0-9 St Catherines 1-3 Kieran Murphy 0-4 Johnny Morgan 0-3, Christy Enright and Carey Joyce 0-1 each


Castlemartyr 2-7 Erins Own 0-7

CASTLEMARTYR regained the East Cork junior football championship title they last held in 1987 when at sun drenched Midleton yesterday they defeated Erins Own, who were making their debut in the final.

Erin’s Own, who were missing some key players, never got going, except for a short period in the second-half when they struck over some fine points. All their efforts for a vital goal failed, however, due mainly to the vigilant goalkeeping of Noel Murphy and the great defensive work of Sean Bowes, James Furlong. Noel Curtin and Pat Walsh, who dealt with everything that came their way.

Castlemartvr dominated the opening half and got a dream start when a sideline free from John Morgan was mishandled by Paul Twomev in the Erin’s Own goal. He allowed the ball drop out of his hands and over his goalline in the very first minute. After six minutes they were ahead 1-3 to 0-0 and while Raymond O’Connor pointed a close in free in the 10th minute, it was Castlemartyr who went into the second-half leading 1-6 to 0-2.

Beaten in midfield and their backs under severe pressure from John Morgan, Tony Barrett and Kieran Murphy, Erin’s Own made numerous positional switches and were forced to make many more as the second-half progressed. They did look more impressive in the second-half but try as they did they found their task to goal a difficult one. They reduced the lead to five points and were beginning to come more into the game when their dreams of glory were shattered. John Morgan lobbed the ball out to Tony Barrett who fired in a great effort, which forced a great save from Twomey. He failed to hold the ball, however and Sean Leahy, who was just on as a sub, came charging in and goaled.

Tim Kelliher, Brian Corcoran, Matt Nicholl, Frank Horgan, Paul Geazley and Colm Touhig tried their best for Erins Own and managed to pick off two points. Jim Cosgrove, who had a great game for the winners, then made the issue safe with a point, only Castlemartyr’s second score in this half. Brian Corcoran got a consolation point for Erins Own in the 57th minute.

Scorers for Castlemartyr: J.Morgan 1-1 (frees), S. Leahy 1-0, T. Barrett 0-2. J. Cosgrove 0-2. C. Enright and C. O’Sullivan 0-1 each. Erins Own: B. Corcoran 0-3. B. O’Connor 0-2. C. Touhig and P. Geazley 0-1 each.

1990 East Cork Football Champions Path to the final

CASTLEMARTYR: Noel Murphy, Pa Beausang, Sean Bowens, Jim Furlong, John Roche Noel Curtin (capt) Pat Walsh, Jim Cosgrove, Christy Enright, Johnny Morgan, Derry Guilfoyle, Donal Burke, Tony Barrett, Kieran Murphy Christy O’Sullivan. Subs. Sean Leahy for C. O’Sullivan Mairtin Conroy for Barrett injured

Subs Mossy Duggan, Ger Flanagan, William Martin, Dan Barry, Liam Barry, Carey Joyce, Ron Barrett, Aidan Doherty, Jim Hennessy, Dave Fleming.

ERINS OWN: P Twomey D Long M Nicholl D Collins K Murphy T Kelleher D Cunningham F Horgan P J Murphy P Geasley (capt) B Corcoran C Dillon R OConnor C Touhig T OKeeffe. Subs. T Dunlea for P J Murphy S Moore for K Murphy.

Referee: Niall Barrett Carrigtwohill

After winning East Cork Castlemartyr reached the County final but lost to Newcestown in the decider.

County Junior A Football Quarter-Final Castlemartyr 0-10 Knocknagree 1-6

County Junior A Football Semi-Final Castlemartyr 0-8, Nemo Rangers 0-4

County Junior A Football Final Newcestown 0-12 Castlemartyr 0-5

Some consolation when the East Cork Football league title was added to the Championship win.

J.A.F.L. Final Castlemartyr 4-10 Glenbower 0-6

Selectors for the Year were Frank Mc Lellan, Mick Leahy, Seamus Lawton

Trainer Jerry Mc Carthy (Midleton)