Second Title for Castlemartyr

Castlemartyr 1-5 Glenville 1-2

CHRISTY O’Sullivan, the former Kerry footballer, turned in abrilliant performance and his golden goal in the 17th minute ofthe first half, plus some fine points, were the main factors in Castlemartyr’s three points victory over Glenville in the replay ofthe East Cork junior football championship at Carrigtwohill.

Glenville controlled the opening thirty minutes, but erraticshooting and the tough Castlemartyr defence, where Pat Walsh,Seanie Bowes, Seamus Lawton, Noel Curtin and Liam McLellanexcelled, saw them trail at the interval by 1-2 to 0-1.

While Glenville, whose sister club Watergrasshill also lost thedivisional hurling final, opened the scoring in the second half froma Pat O’Callaghan free, it was Castlemartyr who dominated.Kieran Murphy, who was well policed by Andrew O’Callaghan, gotCastlemartyrs first score in this period in the 47th.minute. Despitethe trojan efforts of John Walsh and Pat O’Callaghan in thecentrefield position for Glenville, Jim Cosgrove, Donal Burke andfor a period Derry Guilfoyle curbed their first half superiority andwith the attack moving well on a heavy ground, the winners hadtwo more magnificent points from Christy O’Sullivan.

Glenville introduced three substitutes in the hour, but theirsecond half display fell short of their opening half. They didmanage to scramble a goal through Sean O’Callaghan, whoplayed exceptionally well, but missed two golden chances of goalsfrom 14 metres out in the first half.

Scorers for Castlemartyr: Christy O’Sullivan 1-3, KieranMurphy 0-2.

Scorers for Glenville: Andrew O’Callaghan 1-0, Dan O’Riordan0-1 Pat O’Callaghan 0-1 (both from frees).

Castlemartyr: Noel Murphy, Noel Curtin, Liam McLellan, SeamusLawton, Anthony Beausang, Seanie Bowes, Pat Walsh, JimCosgrove, Donal Burke, Kieran Murphy (capt.), Derry Guilfoyle,Christy Enright, Finbarr Murphy, Bernard Lawton, ChristyO’Sullivan. Sub. John Morgan for F. Murphy (injured).

Glenville: Denis Murphy Dermot O’Callaghan, Danny O’Farrell,Donal O’Callaghan, Kevin Barry, John Halbert, AndrewO’Callaghan, John Walsh, Pat O’Callaghan (capt.), JoeO’Riordan,James O’Callaghan, Dan O’Riordan, Sean O’Callaghan, Jim Ryan,Frank Halbert. Subs. Pat Walsh for Joe O’Riordan Michael O’Learyfor James O’Callaghan Dan Kearney for Frank Halbert

Referee: Dan Kenneally (Dungourney)