Castlemartyr 0-6, Glenville 0-6

Late Point from Morgan saves the dayA super point from a very acute angle by 16 years old JohnMorgan, gave Castlemartyr a share of the spoils in the final of theEast Cork Junior Football Championship, in Carrigtwohill onSaturday night, where both sides provided a magnificent displayof powerful football.

It was a game where Castlemartyr, powered by the hero ofImokilly’s great victory in ’84 Senior Final, Kieran Murphy, shonelike a beacon. A strong cross wind made conditions difficult forscoring and at the interval, Castlemartyr led by 0-3 to 0-1,Murphy scoring two. Glenville, a sister club of Watergrasshill, wholost the hurling final, made a tremendous start to the second half,when Jim Ryan, a son of former Cork trainer Eamonn picked off abeautiful point inside forty five seconds. Kieran Murphy however,tormented the Glenville defence and when in possession was thesignal for danger for Glenville.

He added two points to leave Castlemartyr three points clear. Playfluctuated from end to end and entering the last quarter Glenvillewere just a point in arrears, their scores coming from DanO’Riordan and Joe O’Riordan from a free. With nine minutes to go,Glenville were awarded a penalty and when John Halbert’s effortwas well saved by Noel Murphy, one felt that this game wasleaving the lads from the “Hill, but it in effect gave them a newlease of life and inside two minutes Jim Ryan and SeanO’Callaghan pointed to leave them ahead for the first time in thegame.

Castlemartyr introduced young John Morgan, who won an Under16 F.A.I. cup medal with Midleton last season and with threeminutes to go he showed his class, when picking a loose ball nearthe corner flag he cut inside the Glenville defence and pointedwhat was final score in a game that had all the ingredients of acracker.

Best for Castlemartyr were Noel Murphy, Noel Curtin, Liam McLellan, Jim Cosgrave, Sean Bowes, Kieran Murphy, DerryGuilfoyle, while Dermot O’Callaghan, Billy Leahy, AndrewO’Callaghan, John Halbert, skipper Pat O’Callaghan and Jim Ryanexcelled for Glenville.

Scorers for Castlemartyr: K Murphy 0-4, D Guilfoyle and JMorgan (0-1).

Scorers for Glenville: J Ryan (0-3), D O’Riordan, J O’Riordan, SO’Callaghan (0-1) each

Castlemartyr: N Murphy N Curtin L McLellan S Lawton ABeausang J Cosgrave P Walsh S Bowes D Guilfoyle C Enright CO’Sullivan K Murphy (Captain) F Murphy J Hayes B Lawton. Sub: JMorgan for J Hayes

Glenville: D Murphy D O’Callaghan B Leahy D O’Callaghan KBarry A O’Callaghan J Halbert P O’Callaghan John Walsh (Capt) SO’Callaghan James O’Callaghan F Halbert J O’Riordan J Ryan DO’Riordan. Subs: D Kearney for D O’Riordan P Walsh for JamesO’Callaghan.

Referee: J Motherway,Aghada.